Do you buy a LV?

I travel to Po Lin Monastery, a beautifully colored monastery on top of the second highest mountain of Hong Kong. There, I meet one of the monks – a very happy monk with a positive outlook on life. After the interview I have with him, which is pretty informal, he takes me to the dining hall. During a great vegetarian lunch (spring rolls, mushrooms, rice porridge, a few veggie dishes, and tofu ‘leaves’) the monk asks me:

If people in the Netherlands get money, do they go travelling or do they buy a LV?

It took me a very long while to understand what he meant be a “LV”. I know now. My answer to his was that most people go travelling, at least most of the the people I know. He probably already understood this from the fact that I had to think so long before I understood his question

Leave a Reply

